Millennium Development Goals

At the United Nations Millennium Summit in 2000, world leaders agreed to set measurable goals for combating hunger, disease, illiteracy, environmental degradation and discrimination against women. These goals were formulated into eight specific targets, all to be achieved by the year 2015.

These targets are called the Millennium Development Goals.

mdg_webThey are:

  1. Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger
  2. Achieve universal primary education
  3. Promote gender equality and empower women
  4. Reduce child mortality
  5. Improve maternal health
  6. Combat HIV/AIDS, malaria and other diseases
  7. Ensure environmental sustainability
  8. A global partnership for development

In June 2006, the General Convention of The Episcopal Church established the Millennium Development Goals as a “stated mission priority” of the Episcopal Church for the next three years. As Episcopalians, we are encouraged to work for the fulfillment of these goals through the national church, the diocese, as congregations and individuals.

The National and World Mission Commission of the diocese has been charged with promoting, educating and empowering the diocese to work toward the fulfillment of these goals. In November 2006, the diocesan convention passed a resolution (R06-2) asking individuals, congregations and the diocese to increase their giving in support of the MDGs by .7 percent. The commission has established a grant process to assist congregations and individuals with projects that work toward the achievement of the MDGs.